Transport

Steering Committee for the Barents Euro-Arctic Transport Area (BEATA)

The need for co-operation on transport between the countries of the Barents Region was raised at a meeting of the Ministers for Transport of the BEAC, in Arkhangelsk in September 1996. The Barents Region was subsequently introduced into the EU transport co-operation as a Transport Area, decided at the third Pan-European Transport Conference in Helsinki in 1997. The identification of transport corridors on a European scale started at the second Pan-European Transport Conference in Crete in 1994, where several EU transport corridors and four Pan-European Transport Areas were defined.

The BEATA co-operation was established and guidelines for its work drawn up at a meeting in Copenhagen in May 1998 between the Ministers for Transport from Finland, Norway, Russia and Sweden and representatives from the European Commission. A Steering Committee for the BEATA was set up. The main aim is to strengthen co-operation in order to create an efficient transport system in the Barents Region that integrates the different means of transport. The co-operation includes border crossing points, customs co-operation, maintenance and reconstruction as well as new projects to improve the infrastructure.

The Steering Committee is required to submit a report once a year to the BEAC and to the European Commission. The chairmanship of the Steering Committee rotates between the members on a two-year basis. The Finnish Ministry of Transport and Communication has established a permanent secretariat in Helsinki to assist the Steering Committee.

The Joint Barents Transport Plan, updated September 2015

Contacts

Russian Federation

Sergey Andreev (Chair)
Ministry of Transport
Tel: +7 4994950571
E-mail: AndreevSA@mintrans.ru

Elena Kushnirenko
Ministry of Transport
Tel: +7 4956269124
E-mail: Kushnirenkoea@mintrans.ru

Norway

Kjell Rosanoff
Ministry of Transport and Communications
Tel: +47 22248306
E-mail: kjell.rosanoff@sd.dep.no

Per Munkerud
Nordland County Council
Tel: +47 75 65 03 80
E-mail: per.munkerud@nfk.no

Sweden

Lena Kling
Ministry of Enterprise and Innovation
tel. +46 84052306, +46 703424700
E-mail:Lena.Kling@regeringskansliet.se

Jeannette Jarmlinger
Ministry of Enterprise, Energy and Communications
Tel. +46 84051725
E-mail:jeannette.jarmlinger@enterprise.ministry.se

Bo-Erik Ekblom
Länsstyrelsen, Norrbotten
Tel: +46 92096151, +46 706396151
E-mail: bo-erik.ekblom@bd.lst.se

Finland

Tuija Maanoja
Senior Specialist
Ministry of Transport and Communications
Tel: +358 916028686, +358 405447947
E-mail: tuija.maanoja@lvm.fi

Sanna Ruuskanen
Director of Unit
Ministry of Transport and Communications
Tel: +358 50 376 2377, +358 295 34 2077
E-mail: sanna.ruuskanen@lvm.fi

Martti Miettinen
Secretary 
C/O Transys Ltd
Tel: +358 400514755
E-mail: martti.miettinen@transys.fi

European Union
Catharina Sikow-Magny
European Commission
Tel: +32 22962125
E-mail: catharina.sikow@ec.europa.eu


Project funding in Barents

How to make your Barents project dreams come true? We have gathered information for all Barents relevant funding sources in our new portal.

Read more

"CLIMATE JOURNEY" PHOTO EXHIBITION

During two missions, in 2007 and 2012, Swedish journalist Tom Juslin traveled through the Nordic countries to find out how climate change affects people, animals and nature - "Climate Journey" opens the planned series of exhibitions in in Kirkenes

Read more